This section contains the tools for working with product attributes - of which there are three types:
- Standard fields are default product attributes present on all products on a solution
- Global custom fields are custom product attributes available on all products on a solution
- Categories are collections of custom attributes used to extend only a subset of products, either via inheritance or by being explicitly added to products
When you create or edit a product field you have access to a list of field settings. They vary slightly depending on the fields type, but two groups of fields are universal:
- General
- Visibility
On Decimal-fields you can also configure conversion options.
General
The General section contains the most basic field settings:
They are:
- Name
- Field type (and List type for fields of the List-type)
- System name
- Template tag
- Reference
- Description
- Validation pattern
- Validation error message
Validation patterns are defined using regular expressions. Whenever a field with a validation pattern is saved, the value is checked against the regular expression. If it does not validate, the product is not saved and the error message is displayed.
Visibility
The Visibility section contains settings which control where this field is available and related functionality.
The following settings are available:
- Editable on language versions
- Editable on product variants
- Show field on both master and variants
- Required
- Read Only
- Use as facet
You can see an overview of most of these settings for all product fields using the field settings overview.
Options
Fields of the Decimal-type (Double) have an extra section where you can select which unit to use on which language - e.g. kilos, pounds, inches or meters.
To do this:
- Select a conversion definition - these come from the field value conversion node and will typically have names such as Weight or Distance
- Choose a Presentation rounding - fixed or automatic. This setting controls whether the field value is presented in the unit is is saved in - fixed - or if the system should auto-convert the a more human readable format - automatic.
Once you've selected and saved a conversion definition you will have access to a Rules section which allows you to select which unit to use for which language:
In this manner, you can select a culturally appropriate unit to use for each commerce language.
Options tab
An Options-tab is available on all custom fields with the type list box - you can:
- Select how you want the list options displayed:
- CheckBoxList
- DropDownList
- MultiSelectList
- RadioButtonList
- TagCloud
- Add a number of options, specifying their label and value. One of the options can be set to be the default option.
Warning
If your option values contain decimal numbers and need to be indexed, please use dot '.' as the decimal marker and not comma ','. Lucene stores all values as strings, and then defaults to latin-1-general formatting which means commas are not analyzed as decimal separators.
Field settings overview
The Field settings overview is a screen for managing product attributes accessed via the context menu for each of these nodes:
- Standard fields
- Global custom fields
- Reference groups
- Category groups
- Property groups
When you open the overview you will see a list like this:
Using this screen you can:
- See the field name, ID, and system name
- Allow a field to have different values across languages
- Allow a field to have different values across variants
- Set a field to required
- Set a field to do not render
Copy content functionality
The Copy Content functionality is used to copy the content from one attribute field to another attribute field e.g. if you create a Global custom field on a product, which you later figure out should be moved to e.g. a Category Group. To do so:
- Click Copy Content via the context menu of the Product fields node

- In the slide-over panel select a:
- Source field, the field from where the existing content is
- Destination field, the field to where we want to copy the content
- Click Validate, this process may take a couple of seconds so please be patient
When this action has finished the content will be in both fields, you will need to manually delete the original source field, if it should no longer be used.